From Sega Retro

This teeny-tiny article needs some work. You can help us by expanding it.

Wirehead title.png
Publisher: Sega
System(s): Sega Mega-CD
Genre: Action

Number of players: 1
Release Date RRP Code
Sega Mega-CD
$59.99[1] 4437

Wirehead is a full motion video game for the Sega Mega-CD. It was only released in North America.


Wirehead is the same type of full motion video game originally witnessed with Dragon's Lair - it is an interactive movie where the player is prompted at certain points to choose either Left, Up, Right, A or B. The player has three "batteries" (continues) and each battery has three "charges" (lives) - going in the wrong direction (or failing to press anything) can lead to one of these charges being lost, although Wirehead also offers multiple routes in some scenarios.

Typically the game lasts between 35-40 minutes.



Wirehead was originally set to be released similarly to Fahrenheit, in that the package would contain both a Mega-CD copy of the game, and a Mega-CD 32X variant. The Mega-CD 32X version was announced at Summer CES 1994, but was ultimately scrapped for unknown reasons. Had it been released, the Mega-CD 32X version of Wirehead would have debuted during the launch window of the 32X system, and was at one point dated for January 1995[2].

Production credits

Source: In-game credits
  • Wirehead: Steve Witting
  • Laura: Leah Lail
  • Heels: Natasha Pavlova
  • Dr. Oja: John Fujioka
  • Dr. Slitcon: Vaugen Armstrong
  • Rip: Stephen Davies
  • Sticks: Sonny Surowiec
  • Stunt Coordinator: David Jacox Jr.
  • Stunt Performers: Charles Andre, George Josef, Rick Pearse, Yves Cameron, Ernie Jackson, Vanessa Paris, Dean Choe, Brad Loree, Fiona Roeske, Jim Dunn, Jacob Rupp, Michael Langlois, Elaina Gambli, Cotton Mather, Melissa Stubss, Alex Green, Michael Mitckell, Kim Sheppard, Collin Hosu, Tony Morelli, Dawn Stoffer, Kirk Jarret, Fred Perron, Danny Virtue
  • Casting: Rosemary Weldon, Sue Van Slee
  • Sally: Carol Whiteman
  • Lisa: Paige Heuser
  • Max: Joe Jutt
  • Sheriff: James Bell
  • Deputy: Malcolm Stewart
  • Cowboy #1: Christopher Turner
  • Cowboy #2: Dorwin Horst
  • Cowboy #3: Willis Horst
  • Cowgirl #1: Dorothy Fehr
  • Cowgirl #2: Sarah Richardson
  • Cowgirl #3: Rachel Hayward
  • Jeep Girl: Mikka Dargel
  • Slitcon Assistant: Dean Choe
  • Unit Production Manager: James Goff Martin
  • First Assistant Director: Blair Roth
  • Second Assistant Director: Koa Padolsky
  • Production Coordinator: Laurie McLay
  • Focus Pullers: Kevin Hall, Holly Gregory
  • Clapper/Loader: Marty Naucler, Ian Seabrook
  • Video Assistant: David Bercovici
  • Key Grip: Tony Hyland
  • Best Boy Grip: Steve Larson
  • Third Grip: Irwin Figuera
  • Gaffer: Paul Slatter
  • Best Boy: George Campell
  • Lamp Operator: Steve Clark
  • Genny Operator: Paul Bougie
  • Sound Mixer: Jerry McLean
  • Boom Operator: Martin Borycki
  • Art Director: Ron Kearney
  • Set Decorator: Paul Hanlon
  • Set Dresser: Alexander Greig
  • Props Masters: Mark Hughes
  • Second Props: Jason Landels
  • Third Props: Trevor Wise
  • Location Managers: Greg Jackson, Dan Redford
  • Assistant Location Manager: Joel Hurley
  • Location Scout: John Penhall
  • Location P.A.: Darcy Wild
  • Special Effects Coordinator: Al Benjamin
  • Special Effects Assistant: Rae Reedyk
  • Wardrobe Stylist: Kellie Davis
  • Wardrobe Assistant: Debbie Schreiber
  • Make up Artist: Delina Sheppard
  • Hair Stylist: Frederick London
  • Third Assistant Director: J.P. Holecka
  • Trainee Assistant Director: Glen Bottomley
  • Production Assistant: Claire Welch
  • First Aid/Craft Services: Lisa Chalmers
  • Office Assistant: Hayley E. Wilson
  • Picture Car Coordinator: Don Bell
  • Transportation Coordinator: Dave Fisher
  • Driver Captain: Malcolm Jones
  • Drivers: Peter Pantages, Simon Alexander, Troy Bassett
  • Post Production Supervisor: Ken Cathro
  • Colorist: Ernie Moser
  • Color Correction: Achim Kapitza
  • Audio Design: Ewan Deane
  • Online Editor: Mike Ross
  • Programming: James Fisher
  • Additional Programming: Colin Hogg, Simon Morris, Mark Kirkby, Elliot Simon Gay
  • Graphics by: Joe Lewis
  • Sega Producer: Tony Van
  • Sega Assistant Producer: Vy Nong
  • Digital Compression: Katy Weathers
  • Product Manager: John Garner
  • Game Testing: Sega of America Testing Dept.
  • Special Thanks: Jef Feltman, Larry Loth, Clint Dyer, Pacific Video Resources
  • Facilities Provided by: Pacific Video Canada, Gastown Post & Transfer, Airwaves Sound Design, Northwest Imaging & FX
  • Koda the Bear Provided by: Creative Animal Talent
  • Trained by: Mark Weiner
  • Special Thanks to: Melissa Stubbs whose dedication to her work was an inspiration to the entire crew.

The Code Monkeys

Source: US manualMedia:Wirehead mcd us manual.pdf[3]
  • Written/Directed by: James Riley
  • Dirs. of Photography: Bernard Salzmann, Daniel Nowak
  • Edited by: Sloan Klevin
  • Produced by: Michael Mullaly
  • Music Composed by: George Bondheim
  • Sega Asst. Producers: Greg Beckstead
  • Lead Testers: Jeff Loney, Abe Navarro, Jay Vo
  • Game Guide: Hillary Clayson Loeb, Gary Ferster
  • Special Thanks: Willie Mancero, Luis Arguero

Magazine articles

Main article: Wirehead/Magazine articles.

Physical scans

Sega Retro Average 
Publication Score Source
10 №75, p58
Sega Mega-CD
Based on
2 reviews

Mega-CD, US
Wirehead MCD US Box Back.jpgWirehead MCD US Box Front.jpg
Wirehead MCD US Disc.jpg
Wirehead mcd us manual.pdf


  1. 1.0 1.1 File:GamePro US 075.pdf, page 58
  2. File:GamePlayers US Supplement 0802.pdf, page 2
  3. File:Wirehead mcd us manual.pdf, page 11