Ryoichi Hasegawa

From Sega Retro

Ryoichi Hasegawa.jpg
Ryoichi Hasegawa
Place of birth: Japan
Employment history:
Sega Enterprises (1992-11[1] – 1998-03[1])
Sega (2007-07[1] – 2012-01[1])
DeNA (2012 – )
Role(s): Localiser
Education: West Virginia University[1]
Twitter: @rio_hasegawa

This short article is in need of work. You can help Sega Retro by adding to it.

Ryoichi Hasegawa (長谷川 亮一) is a Japanese video game developer and former Sega of Japan overseas coordinator and domestic localizer.


Ryoichi Hasegawa has worked with various Sega titles from late 1992 to early 1998. He was also a lyricist for Daytona USA 2 alongside Fumio Ito as well as the Sega Saturn classic Burning Rangers for its menu theme, "We are Burning Rangers." For the latter game's overseas release he is credited as Talking Moon - an alias previously used by vocalists Curtis King, Jr. & Dana Calitri for the single release of NiGHTS' main theme, "Dreams Dreams" - despite being credited regularly in the original version. As such, Hasegawa is also credited for translating Tomoko Sasaki's lyrics for "Angels with Burning Hearts" and "I Just Smile."

Hasegawa then took a similar job at Sony Computer Entertainment and remained there until mid 2007, but later returned to Sega. He would remain with the company until early 2012, this time engaging in more executive roles such as a producer for the PSN & XBLA version of Crazy Taxi.

He is now a Localization Producer for DeNA Co., Ltd..

Production history



Song credits

Main article: Ryoichi Hasegawa/Song credits.

Burning Rangers (Japanese edition)

  • We are Burning Rangers — Words

Burning Rangers (Overseas edition)

  • Angels with Burning Hearts — Words
  • We are Burning Rangers — Words
  • I Just Smile — Words

Daytona USA 2

  • Battle on the Edge — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • Sling Shot — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • I Can Do It — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • Skyscraper Sequence — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • Battle on the Edge - Mitsuyoshi Ver. - — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • Sling Shot - Mitsuyoshi Ver. - — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • I Can Do It - Mitsuyoshi Ver. - — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)
  • Skyscraper Sequence - Mitsuyoshi Ver. - — Lyrics (with Fumio Ito)


Some or all of the following content should be mirrored on Sega Retro (or Retro CDN).


Main article: Photos of Ryoichi Hasegawa

External links


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 https://www.linkedin.com/in/ryoichihasegawa1
  2. https://cedil.cesa.or.jp/cedil_sessions/view/390 (Wayback Machine: 2023-06-02 04:50)
  3. File:Pro Striker 2 MD credits.pdf
  4. File:Virtua Racing 32X credits.pdf
  5. File:Cosmic Carnage 32X credits.pdf
  6. File:Ristar MD credits.pdf
  7. File:Metal Head 32X credits.pdf
  8. File:Tempo 32X credits.pdf
  9. File:Chaotix 32X good ending credits.pdf
  10. File:Stellar Assault 32X credits.pdf
  11. File:Tempo Jr GG credits.pdf
  12. File:Mighty Morphin Power Rangers The Movie MD credits.pdf
  13. File:Zaxxon's Motherbase 32X credits.pdf
  14. File:Mystaria sat us manual.pdf, page 28
  15. File:Tails Adventures GG credits.pdf
  16. File:Virtua Fighter 32X credits.pdf
  17. File:Baku Baku Animal Saturn credits.pdf
  18. File:NiGHTS into Dreams Saturn credits.pdf
  19. File:Nightsintodreams sat us manual.pdf, page 30
  20. File:Wsbii sat us manual.pdf, page 44
  21. File:Daytonausacce sat us manual.pdf, page 26
  22. File:Virtua Fighter 2 MD credits.pdf
  23. File:Sws97 sat us manual.pdf, page 38
  24. File:Cyber Troopers Virtual On Saturn credits.pdf
  25. File:Fightersmegamix sat us manual.pdf, page 42
  26. File:Sonic Jam Saturn credits.pdf
  27. File:Last Bronx Saturn credits.pdf
  28. File:Lastbronx sat us manual.pdf, page 26
  29. File:Lost World GG credits.pdf
  30. File:Sonic R Saturn credits.pdf
  31. File:House of the Dead Saturn credits.pdf
  32. File:NiGHTSPerfectAlbum CD JP Booklet.pdf, page 11
  33. File:MDLAH Music JP inlay front.png